wa9ywj@gmail.com - Still Scam Email??

This is the place to discuss the QTH.com Classifieds (http://swap.qth.com). Please be constructive.
Post Reply
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 9:49 pm

wa9ywj@gmail.com - Still Scam Email??

Post by wb7eok » Sat Mar 21, 2015 9:58 pm

Placed a WTB ad on the boards and an individual ROBERT J MENCEL <wa9ywj@gmail.com> has contacted me, NOT at the email address I left with QTH.com with for a forwarding. Instead I am getting the response to my corporate email address which I DID NOT leave with the ad. I am fairly easy to find because of what I do but have read in a couple of boards where the email address with this person's callsign may have been hijacked.

Can anyone give me a heads up on this? Everything about the emails this person is sending just does not look right.

Thank you!

Jack - wb7eok

Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:00 pm
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas

Re: wa9ywj@gmail.com - Still Scam Email??

Post by n5wrx » Thu Aug 18, 2016 8:24 am

If you can not get the person to give you a phone number or talk to a person on the phone it is a good indication you are getting scammed.

Post Reply