Yaesu FT-726R module repair help?

Just what it says -- this is the place for any discussions not related to Buying, Selling and Trading ham gear. The discussion must be related to Ham Radio.
Post Reply
W4AJF
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:57 pm

Yaesu FT-726R module repair help?

Post by W4AJF » Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:49 am

Hi does anyone know of any place that can fix any of the Yaesu FT-726 modules?

ANY help greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Adam Farber W4AJF
Cooper City, FL
adamf@eeco.com

WA9WVX
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:31 am
Location: QRZ Indicates Northern Illinois

FT-726R Modules Repair

Post by WA9WVX » Sat Jun 20, 2009 5:00 am

Hello Adam.

Hmmm, that's an interesting problem on 23~24 year old equipment that the Amateur Radio communiity all face if the operators are not knowledgeable in basic electronic theory and have no test equipment. Most Amateur Radio Distributors don't have a Repair Department any longer and dislike to spend the time and money on qualified technical personnel. We live in a "Throw Away Society" and have to go purchase new multi-band VHF / UHF transceivers.

But, I am very curious what module or modules are giving you problems and what kind of failures are you experiencing? Perhaps I can help you.

73,

Dan
WA9WVX

W4AJF
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:57 pm

FT-726R module, need help

Post by W4AJF » Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:14 am

Hi Dan, thanks for the post, it's nice when people care, I appreciate that....The module in this case is the 430mhz module, it has no transmit. When I key up I can hear a relay click ( seems a little loud) and the wattmeter flickers a little for a second but no output.

Thanks,

Adam Farber W4AJF

wx1f
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 7:45 pm

Re: Yaesu FT-726R module repair help?

Post by wx1f » Sat Jun 20, 2009 1:53 pm

W4AJF wrote:Hi does anyone know of any place that can fix any of the Yaesu FT-726 modules?

ANY help greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Adam Farber W4AJF
Cooper City, FL
adamf@eeco.com
Adam, I Googled your repair issue and saw a post from this gent:
KC4UMO kc4umo@earthlink.net
He fixes his own FT-726 modules.

W4AJF
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2003 3:57 pm

FT-726R module help

Post by W4AJF » Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:48 pm

Thanks Gordon, I just e-mailed him.

Thanks for the post!

Adam Farber W4AJF

kc4umo
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 1:04 am
Location: Greenville NC
Contact:

Post by kc4umo » Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:28 pm

Adam,
Good luck with that. Let me know what you find.

wx1f,
That must have been a post from qrz. Over a year ago. Have not posted there in a while now It is amazing what google can find.

WA9WVX
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:31 am
Location: QRZ Indicates Northern Illinois

FT-726R

Post by WA9WVX » Wed Jun 24, 2009 7:05 pm

Hello Gordon & Buddy (Alias Alton),

Adam's FT-726R 430 MHz Module Failure was caused by a dirty set of Relay contacts on the KL01 Tx / Rx Antenna Relay. Adam was able to remove the relay's cover and clean the relay's contacts and the transverter's RF Power Output is measured at 16 Watts now.

73,

Dan
WA9WVX

wx1f
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 7:45 pm

Re: FT-726R

Post by wx1f » Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:13 pm

WA9WVX wrote:Hello Gordon & Buddy (Alias Alton),

Adam's FT-726R 430 MHz Module Failure was caused by a dirty set of Relay contacts on the KL01 Tx / Rx Antenna Relay. Adam was able to remove the relay's cover and clean the relay's contacts and the transverter's RF Power Output is measured at 16 Watts now.

73,

Dan
WA9WVX
Thank goodness for Google !! Now...if I ever run across this issue again, I'll know what to check! Thanks to everyone who volunteered info, too! :D

Ruud
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:54 pm

relays in FT 726R

Post by Ruud » Thu Aug 27, 2009 3:03 pm

FT 726R Relay
I have for 26 years a FT726R
I have cleaned many times the relays
I have reached the end of the life of the relays and I want to replace them
The numbers on the relays are 211A D009 M and 221 D012
Where can I get them
'73 Ruud PA3EQC

Post Reply