SignaLink USB

Just what it says -- this is the place for any discussions not related to Buying, Selling and Trading ham gear. The discussion must be related to Ham Radio.
Post Reply
W8FCD
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 11:44 pm

SignaLink USB

Post by W8FCD » Thu Dec 03, 2015 6:47 pm

Has anyone using the SignaLink USB had problems with the Tx pot? This is my 2nd unit and the same problem exists in both. Just touching the Tx knob changes the output of the rig. It will, for example, jump from my initial setting of 25 watts upward to 45, 50, 60 watts and onward. I've contacted Tigertronics tech support and he says I'm the only one that's reported this problem, and that he has no thoughts as to what the problem might be. Since this is my 2nd unit doing the exact same thing, I'm suspecting a weak or faulty potentiometer. I'm using DigiPan software along with an FTdx5000 rig. All configurations have been done correctly, soundcard, speaker settings, etc. Other than the erratic output of the Tx pot, the unit works beautifully. Anyone have any thoughts? Thanks!

k9yli
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:35 pm
Location: northwest wisconsin

Re: SignaLink USB

Post by k9yli » Sat Dec 05, 2015 3:18 pm

t[/size try touching the contol with a pencil. keep your hand far away as possible. Thus to prove or disprove hand capacitance,
also maybe Rf getting in to shack. run a ground jumper from different things around the rig to check.
mic stand,, interconnect cables etc.. its possibly an open ground or shield conductor...

KC7I
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:16 pm

Re: SignaLink USB

Post by KC7I » Sun Jan 24, 2016 7:17 am

It sounds like the output of the Signalink audio is way too high. Check the jumper inside. It may be set for high level output.
If that doesn't help, you might be able to turn the audio in down at the radio. You can also try at the computer, but setting it low there increases noise.

Post Reply