US Postal Money Order?

This is the place to discuss the QTH.com Classifieds (http://swap.qth.com). Please be constructive.
kd0ghu

US Postal Money Order?

Post by kd0ghu »

Hello,

I am new to QTH Classifieds way of buying/selling equipment. I am used to having a "middle man" that makes sure both parties honor the deal, or simply meeting the other party face-to-face to close the deal. Is sending a postal money order really the best we can do? If I find something I want to buy and the seller says, "Send me a postal money order and I will send the item when I cash the money order", am I supposed to trust the seller? It seems to me like I would be taking a huge risk here. I have read the posts providing many useful tips to avoid getting ripped off. Now I am looking for the experience of the community to tell me what I could do as a recourse if a seller didn't send the item when they cashed the money order. In my limited experience it seems like I am giving away free money. If that is the case then I guess I will stick to retail.

Any constructive advice?

Thanks,
Joe
KD0GHU
K4ICL

Here is a start...

Post by K4ICL »

Joe:

You might want to take a look at "Safe Trading Tips" shown at the top of every Classified page. There is a lot of info there directly related to your question.

AL
K4ICL
shaggy_24740

Re: US Postal Money Order?

Post by shaggy_24740 »

kd0ghu wrote:Hello,