Now you can include a Photo with your Classified Ad

This is the place to discuss the QTH.com Classifieds (http://swap.qth.com). Please be constructive.
Post Reply
KA9FOX
Site Admin
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 5:29 am
Location: La Crosse, WI
Contact:

Now you can include a Photo with your Classified Ad

Post by KA9FOX » Sun Nov 30, 2003 8:38 am

Just a quick note to let you know that I have added the feature of "picture uploads" to the QTH.com Classifieds at http://swap.qth.com.

It's still a bit rough around the edges, but please feel free to edit any existing ads you have, to try to upload a photo, and let me know about any problems. I would also ask that you e-mail me with any suggestions for improving this new feature.

Currently, there is a 100kb limit for pictures, although that will probably be reduced to something closer to 50kb. And even if you upload a very large picture, they are reduced to 300 pixels wide maximum.

Again, any questions, comments, suggestions... just let me know!

Thanks for using the QTH.com Free Ham Radio Classifieds!!
Free Ham Radio Classified Ads: https://swap.QTH.com
Web Hosting & Domain Name Services: https://hosting.QTH.com

K8ERV
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 1:08 pm
Location: Montrose, SW Colorado

Pix

Post by K8ERV » Sat Dec 06, 2003 9:50 pm

Scott, that is a good feature, but I don't have time to size my pix, even if I knew how to do that. I don't know how they manage it, but EHAM automatically resizes my pix to what they allow. I tried to put a pix on your site but it was rejected as being too big. Most single items are about 50K, but I took a pix of 4 meters which came out about 150K and you rejected it. Maybe this can be corrected. Tom. K8ERV
________
326
Last edited by K8ERV on Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

KA9FOX
Site Admin
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 5:29 am
Location: La Crosse, WI
Contact:

Post by KA9FOX » Sat Dec 06, 2003 10:15 pm

Hi Tom. Yep, I will definitely be adding the feature where any size photo you upload will be automatically reduced.

- Scott
Free Ham Radio Classified Ads: https://swap.QTH.com
Web Hosting & Domain Name Services: https://hosting.QTH.com

Jim Thorusen
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 1:12 pm
Location: So. Calif.

Viewing Photos in Ads

Post by Jim Thorusen » Fri Apr 09, 2004 1:21 pm

Greetings, Gentlemen:

Dumb question time.... When I click on the camera icon for photo ads, no photo is visible. If I click on the "enlarge" option, I get a blank white screen (within a frame). Any suggestions?

(Windows XP V5.1, ZoneAlarm Firewall, Active X and Scripting defeated)

Vy 73,
Jim Thorusen
KB6GM

KA9FOX
Site Admin
Posts: 383
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 5:29 am
Location: La Crosse, WI
Contact:

Post by KA9FOX » Fri Apr 09, 2004 4:07 pm

Jim, this sounds like a firewall / anti-virus problem, but I see you disabled Zone Alarm.

What is happening is that a lot of these programs are taking it upon themselves to remove "banner advertising" from all web sites, as a DEFAULT. They try to GUESS what is a banner ad and what is not. We are currently using the word "ad" in the description of the picture (I think it is AdImage) -- anyway, your software may be removing the pictures.

The "enlarge" page is nothing more than a picture, nothing else. So, if you aren't seeing pictures, then this page would appear blank, as you mention.

I'd double check to see if you have any sort of banner ad blocking software, and remove it. So you can see the pictures, and so you can see the banner ads that help make the site possible.

- Scott
Free Ham Radio Classified Ads: https://swap.QTH.com
Web Hosting & Domain Name Services: https://hosting.QTH.com

AB8RU
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Hopkins, MI.

I tossed ZA

Post by AB8RU » Mon May 10, 2004 11:51 pm

I tossed Zone Alarm out after their free trial but I decided to switch to another firewall system. Mc Affee comes in a package . 8)
Mark A. Holman AB8RU, CRO
Assoc. Member SBE

Post Reply