KV5J Follow-up SCAM

Share information regarding your recently completed deals with other ham operators. ONLY BUYERS AND SELLERS directly involved with the transaction can post in this forum. If you have a report of a scam by someone pretending to be a ham, please post in the Scammer Reports forum instead.
Forum rules
As of Dec 9, 2013: ONLY BUYERS AND SELLERS directly involved with a transaction can post here. Do not post replies in any topic if you are not the buyer or seller in the transaction being discussed! If you believe you can help the buyer or seller, please use the Private Message system to communicate with them. NOTE: if you have been scammed by someone pretending to be a ham, please post in the Scammer Reports forum instead. See viewtopic.php?f=2&t=136 for additional rules.
Post Reply
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:23 pm

KV5J Follow-up SCAM

Post by KS8M » Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:46 pm

well, since feb. 16, i still have not received the ht i purchased for $150.00 from Patrick Starkey Kv5J. I received and email from Mr. starkey last saturday stating that the ht is in the mail. 6 days later (today), still no radio, i emailed him asking for a tracking # and no response. HERE'S THE KICKER, I asked another ham to email Mr. Starkey and inquire if the radio is still for sale, and the response was,
I wonder how many times this radio has been sold and not sent.

I WILL get my money back on way or another.
see ya in the wind....

larry ks8m

Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Connecticut

Post by W1QJ » Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:22 pm

He still has the HT for sale, it is still listed. He says PAYPAL only, Did you pay with PAYPAL? If so tell them you never received anything and they should give your money back.
donate life

Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:10 pm

Post by K7FE » Mon Mar 07, 2011 5:08 pm

I suspect that the KV5J callsign is being used without Patrick Starkey's permission. A snail mail to his house should verify this.

QRZ.COM has a for sale Swap Meet post by KV5J. Curiously, KC9SRK answered when a question was asked about the ad. KC9SRK is held by Norwood T Eatmon, Jr.
http://forums.qrz.com/showthread.php?28 ... ost2170907

The phone number he listed later in the thread to call for info happens to be in Wisconsin......as does KC9SRK.

This is what I suggest for those individuals who believe that they have been SCAMMED.

Consider reporting an internet crime to the FBI in addition to local (yours and his) law enforcement plus the US Postal Authorities.

The Internet Crime Complaint Center

Terry, K7FE

Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 8:39 pm
Location: Lompoc, CA. CM94

Post by N6VMO » Mon Mar 07, 2011 9:06 pm


This Norwood Eatmon is in WI.[/url]

Posts: 715
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 12:01 pm
Location: dodge city kansas

Post by lhk0pd » Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:21 am

W8NIC Solved his dispute with KV5J,Here is his entry today on E Ham....


Well, I just received my refund via PAYPAL dispute. It took a while but it was worth the wait. KV5J aka Patrick Starkey never did reply to my inquiries and paypal did not receive any either thus the refund. Sorry to say guys but people like Mr. Starkey make me not want to buy anything from fellow hams anymore via internet. Maybe next time it will be an in-person deal. Thanks to those who emailed me with all sorts of advice.
Larry Huff K0pd

Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:41 am

Re: KV5J Follow-up SCAM

Post by kv5j » Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:02 pm


My name is Keith Ennis. I was awarded the call vanity call KV5J on 11/11/2014. I have no connections with any fraud or scams by anyone using this call sign prior to this date.
FCC record for my vanity call is:
http://wireless2.fcc.gov/UlsApp/UlsSear ... ey=3646805

Thanks for reading and 73

Keith, KV5J

Post Reply