Powerham scam

Share information regarding your recently completed deals with other ham operators. ONLY BUYERS AND SELLERS directly involved with the transaction can post in this forum. If you have a report of a scam by someone pretending to be a ham, please post in the Scammer Reports forum instead.
Forum rules
As of Dec 9, 2013: ONLY BUYERS AND SELLERS directly involved with a transaction can post here. Do not post replies in any topic if you are not the buyer or seller in the transaction being discussed! If you believe you can help the buyer or seller, please use the Private Message system to communicate with them. NOTE: if you have been scammed by someone pretending to be a ham, please post in the Scammer Reports forum instead. See viewtopic.php?f=2&t=136 for additional rules.
Post Reply
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 3:22 pm

Powerham scam

Post by n2mg » Mon Dec 15, 2003 3:28 pm

This operator of this Romanian website:
claims to have the Icom IC-7800 for sale. This radio has not been released (Icom claims spring 2004)

When asked for "terms", he requests a "wire transfer". Very bad.

He came to www.eham.net and registered as several different users (even bootlegging a legitimate US call) and posted several Classifieds for high-end equipment (FT-1000MP MkV, IC-7800, PW-1, etc)

We are keeping a close eye out for him. I suggest you do the same.

Mike N2MG
webmaster at eham.net

Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 1:10 am

Powerham ?

Post by scottm » Mon Dec 15, 2003 5:57 pm

He lists his business address as:

1105 North Columbia Center Boulevard
Kennewick, Washington 99338

It would be nice if a ham in the area could check it out and report if it is or is not a legitimate business.

Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 3:22 pm

KENNEWICK, Washington address

Post by n2mg » Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:27 pm

Funny, the call he bootlegged on eHam was a ham who lives in
KENNEWICK, Washington
73 Mike N2MG

Posts: 663
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2003 1:07 pm
Location: Greenville, SC

www.powerham.com site has been suspended...

Post by K4ICL » Tue Dec 16, 2003 5:05 pm

This morning when I attempted to access the site I receved a notice stating that the site has been temporarily suspended.


Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 6:38 pm
Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Post by n4bnm » Wed Dec 17, 2003 12:51 am

I'm glad a number of you are up to speed on this. The FBI and Western Union has adviseries on dealing with Romania and other countries especially those that border Romania. "Do not wire money, period".

They will emerge again. You can count on it.


Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2003 7:04 am

PowerHam.com recap

Post by na6m » Sat Dec 20, 2003 7:06 am

For those of you who missed it, we captured the powerham.com website and have an educational overview at


Site Admin
Posts: 385
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 5:29 am
Location: La Crosse, WI

Post by KA9FOX » Sun Dec 21, 2003 6:28 pm

I also immediately deleted the ads on QTH.com, and made some reasonable attempts at blocking future postings.

There were many hams that were scammed a year or two ago by some posts by a Romanian, and I am 100% sure this is the same exact person reappearing. As stated, they will probably be back.

Fortunately, this type of thing represents 0.000001% of the normal ham buy / sell dealings. Most of the time, things go just fine, with a little common sense.

Thanks everyone here for your work in documenting the scam and helping to educate others.

73 - Scott KA9FOX
Free Ham Radio Classified Ads: https://swap.QTH.com
Web Hosting & Domain Name Services: https://hosting.QTH.com

Post Reply