astron 35 power supply - does it fit in a large flat rate?

Discussion of various shipping and packing methods, tips and tricks.
Post Reply
kd4at
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:09 am
Location: Kernersville, NC

astron 35 power supply - does it fit in a large flat rate?

Post by kd4at » Sun Oct 02, 2011 1:31 pm

I am selling an Astron RS35a. Has anyone shipped one of these in a large USPS flat rate box? If so, were you satisfied with your shipping experience?

Thanks!
Austin

K9XR
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:51 pm

Re: astron 35 power supply - does it fit in a large flat rat

Post by K9XR » Sun Oct 02, 2011 5:01 pm

Don't even try! First of all, even if it does fit (which it won't), there would be nowhere enough protection for thet heavy piece. The only way to SAFELY shipit is to double box it. I would use bubble wrap before putting it the first box. You have to pack them very tight because they have a tendency to move to one side because of the transformer. You just can't protect them too much. FWIW if it is one with the meter you have to make a "form" with cardboard arounf the meter to make sure the meter is still in one piece when it gets to its destination. They are a pain to ship and that is why most people charge $30.00 or more to ship them.


kd4at wrote:I am selling an Astron RS35a. Has anyone shipped one of these in a large USPS flat rate box? If so, were you satisfied with your shipping experience?

Thanks!
Austin

kd4at
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:09 am
Location: Kernersville, NC

Post by kd4at » Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:54 pm

Thanks! I guess that is why nobody is biting.

KA9MOT
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 4:40 pm

Post by KA9MOT » Tue Aug 07, 2012 3:42 pm

Only if you fold it up... LOL!

Sorry. couldn't resist!
Steve - KA9MOT

Post Reply